Quality since 1086

Des de 1086

This morning, I stopped by my neighborhood dairy – lleteria in Catalan – to buy yogurt. It was the first time I’d been by there. I picked up a few cartons of plain yogurt, paid my bill, and took the stuff home with a couple more stops by the bakery and the bean store, where one goes to buy beans that are already cooked and waiting to be added to other dishes. It wasn’t until I got home and unpacked everything that I glanced at the reciept. Beneath an idyllic picture of what I assume is the ad agency’s version of the company’s headquarters – a lovely, rustic, stone farmhouse located at the foot of a mountain – was the line “des de 1086,” or “since 1086.”

That’s got the brand I usually buy back in San Francisco beat by about 1100 years, give or take.

Leave a Reply

